TEACHER IN RESIDENCE

Rooms with a view

Habanera

Harpa

I was in Reykjavik for the 2nd time in 2 years. This time eTwinning Iceland had invited me to give two workshops at the Professional Development Workshop for Maths teachers.

Maths sometimes has the reputation of being sterile, academic and theoretical. Integrating the math curriculum into eTwinning projects can bring maths to life, to… real life. At the PDW the participants found project partners and they came up with great project ideas. I am very sure that students who will take part in the projects will know better why we need maths. With eTwinning numbers become good friends…

In my workshops I focused on the social layer that comes next to the core curriculum business of the project: the communication between the project partners and safety issues.

During my short stay in Reykjavik I could also enjoy some of its treasures. We spent a wonderful night in the water and the restaurant of the Blue Lagoon.

After the closing of the PDW I went with some NSS colleagues to my favourite modern building: the Harpa Concert Hall. Even without any performance this building is worth a visit. We attended a splendid performance of Bizet’s opera Carmen. The orchestra and the many singers on stage gave us an unforgettable evening.

On the way home there was more music. We heard on many different locations live bands playing. This weekend the Iceland Airwaves festival took place in the city of Reykjavik. Despite the many beats the voice of Carmen stayed in my head all night.

Carmen had come as the perfect encore after the eTwinning Habanera of the previous days.

More Pictures

Comments are closed.

