TEACHER IN RESIDENCE

Rooms with a view

Playful London

Back home from a 6 day trip to London. It was a week full of educational and pedagogical high tech. I am a lucky man.

First of all I took part in Microsoft’s Appathon. Some 20 teachers had been selected for a 24 hours event to create an educational app with Touch Develop. It was a very nice experience although I couldn’t get my mock up running because of my limited programming skills. I think my strength is rather on the level of creating concepts and on the creative use of technology in the classroom.

The days after I was at BETT on the eTwinning stand but in between I also took part in two other activities in the Microsoft building.

The BETT Show is a huge educational technology exhibition taking place in ExCel, a venue located in London’s Docklands. I think it is a very good idea that eTwinning has a stand there. eTwinning offers the perfect framework to embed all this new technology in a way that it creates an added value to 21st Century learning. It was nice to talk to visitors coming from all over the world. For many of them eTwinning was an unexpected and nice surprise.

At the Microsoft headquarters in Victoria Street they had a hectic week as well, with an agenda full of meetings and activities. I co-led a workshop for 60 Danish educators visiting London, and then there was also Playful Learning, a one day programme full of short, surprising learning snacks.

This trip offered another unexpected surprise. At BETT I had the opportunity to attend the famous Teachmeet. A Teachmeet is an event for and by teachers where they share good practice and… passion. It is an ode to teaching and learning. And it is fun.

Believe me: I had quality time in London.

More pictures

etwinning.net

pil-network.com

touchdevelop.com

#msplay, #etbett, #tmbett2013

Comments are closed.

