TEACHER IN RESIDENCE

Rooms with a view

Ode to joy

This weekend I was in Nottingham at the National UK conference for eTwinning. The conference took place in the Learning and Conference Centre, and I must say: this building is just fantastic. I think it is the Feng Shui of conference venues.

It was really an honour for me to deliver 2 workshops for an audience of great eTwinning teachers and ambassadors. It was also very nice to catch up with some old friends from previous conferences and other professional networks.

At the conference I found an atmosphere of joy, of celebrating teaching and learning, of powerful solidarity and open-mindedness. A choir of kids came along to sing some lovely songs they had created during a prize winning eTwinning project.

I also liked the ceremony for the British National eTwinning Awards. The categories were according to me very original and innovative and they expressed the richness of good eTwinning projects. There were commendations for environmental awareness, creative language learning, early years – learners ICT skills, a whole school project, cross-curricular integration, inclusive teaching, bringing local communities together, student-centered approach, teacher development, impact on students’ learning, celebrating diversity, employability skills, improving literacy skills, etc.

Each time a new category was announced I thought: WAW!

This conference was an ode to joy.. of teaching.

More pictures

Comments are closed.

