TEACHER IN RESIDENCE

Rooms with a view

Non scholae, sed vitae discimus

We must learn for ourselves, for life and not to please our teachers at school.

I remember this paradigm from my Latin grammar book when I was 13 years old. For one reason or another this phrase came to my mind when I walked in the direction of the Flemish Parliament in Brussels this morning. I was there to attend an event organized by EPOS, our National Agency that takes care of the many programmes for mobilty and school partnerships in Europe. I think it is just great that the EU promotes these programmes for pupils, students ánd staff. They are all considered as lifelong learners. Learning is not restricted to students, it is not limited to schools.

The meeting started with a keynote by professor Hendrik Vos of the Univerity of Ghent. He stressed the fact that mobility is one of the key factors of the Lisbon strategy to make Europe the strongest economy by 2020.

The rest of the morning we heard inspiring testimonials of both students and educators presenting the story of their experience abroad.

Pascal Smet, our Minister of Education, gave the closing speech and he awarded 2 Erasmus students with a prize.

I remember what one of the teachers said: “The experience abroad changed me. It was as if I had been given a facelift…”

Non scholae, sed vitae discimus. Learning lifts you up. Don’t just do it for the beautiful face of your teacher.

Leave a Reply

