TEACHER IN RESIDENCE

Rooms with a view

Toujours preud’homme

Today I attended a concert at Poeke Castle. I listened to chamber music of Bach, Debussy, Sibelius, Sjostakovitsj a.o.

I didn’t see any pods, pads or phones of the I or other kind.

My daughter played Bartok and we were proud.. Bela Bartok was the one who made expeditions in the country side, just before World War I. He used a gramaphone to record folk songs and music, performed in rural areas. Back home technology helped him to produce wonderful musical compositions. Dmitri Sjostakovitsj also connected his creative talent to technology. Like my grandfather he accompanied the first movies with live piano improvisations. No sheet music but…WYSIWYG!

What would life be without music?

What would technology be without creativity?

Share

Comments are closed.

