TEACHER IN RESIDENCE

Rooms with a view

Bruges-la-Vie

Today I went to Bruges. Before noon I had a meeting to discuss the follow up of the new website eTwinning Flanders will launch in the beginning of September. The meeting took place in a hotel close to the Concertgebouw, one of the few modern buildings in the city centre. I think we are heading for a nice result, although there is still a lot of work to be done.

At noon I had an appointment with 22 teachers of the Sint-Jozefsinstituut. They had enrolled for my workshop for eTwinning starters. It is incredible that so many teachers of the same school, especially in this busy period of the school year, showed interest and wanted to get involved.

This school has a headmaster that takes innovation and ICT-integration seriously. I hope I convinced the audience that eTwinning leads to a rich way of learning. Students deal with the curriculum in a context that makes sense to them, they operate in an environment that opens up to the world, they integrate ICT and move on in that field, and this also counts for the teachers.

When I went back to the train station I saw on the streets and squares of Bruges the colleagues of the teachers of the Sint-Jozefsinstituut: the many international visitors discovering a new world.

more pictures

Share

Comments are closed.

