TEACHER IN RESIDENCE

Rooms with a view

Royal afternoon in Brussels

I must admit I have been lucky in my professional life. Last year I won with my students the Queen Paola Prize for Education. We were invited at the Royal Castle in Brussels to be part of a very stylish ceremony. We were all so proud to get this royal award and attention. It was the climax of an amazing school year.

The nice thing about being a winner once is that you get an invitation every year to attend the prize giving ceremony. Yesterday the event took place in the Royal Palace, in the heart of the capital. I enjoyed it all and felt a tiny bit more relaxed compared to last year when I had to give a speech for a really big audience. This year an eTwinning colleague, Lut Hoornaert, was one of the winners. Well deserved!

Again I met old and new faces, it is like travelling and feeling at home at the same time. The reception took place in the Hall of Mirrors where Belgian contemporary artist Jan Fabre covered the ceiling and a chandelier with artistic beetles.

Nice views. I’ll be back.

more pictures

Share

Comments are closed.

